Our Group

4th Runcorn Scout Group C.W.B. is a Scout Group founded in 1923, it is in the Mersey Weaver Scout District which is part of Cheshire County Scouts, located in the North West of England. We cater for young people between the ages of 6 and 14.

Previously, the Group was part of the North West Cheshire District, which was merged with the Widnes District in January 2012 to form a single district called Mersey Weaver.

Our Group is made up of 3 sections  for young persons from the age of six upwards:

Once a Scout reaches 14 years old, they have the option of continuing their scouting journey either as in  Explorer Scouts (14-18yrs) or a Young Leader. When a Scout reaches this age the Scout leaders will organise with the Explorer leaders for the Scout to start visits to the unit. Cestrian Explorer Scout Unit meet at 4th Runcorn Scout HQ at 8pm on a Monday, for more info on Explorers please visit our district website or contact the Explorer Leaders.

Group Colours The Group Scout Leader for 4th Runcorn is :
4th Runcorn Group Colours

Scarlet with group badge

Barry Newport

Group Scout Leader


Meeting Times

The table below details the days and times which the various sections the group runs are held. Scouting for 14-18 year olds is provided through the Explorer Scout section.

Section For Ages Day From Until Leader
Beaver Scouts 6-8 Year Olds Tuesday 1830 1930 Susan Fearn

Beaver Leader

Cub Scouts 8-10½ Year Olds Wednesday 1830 2000 Mark Harris

Cub Leader

Scouts 10½-14 Year Olds Friday 1915 2130 Matthew Marnell

Scout Leader

Group Contacts

Section Email
Beavers susan.fearn@4thruncornscoutgroup.org.uk
Cubs mark.harris@4thruncornscoutgroup.org.uk
Scouts matthew.marnell@4thruncornscoutgroup.org.uk

Interested in Joining Us?

Click here to see volunteering opportunities.

Group Executive

As well as leaders, a scout group needs a number of other adults to help it to run smoothly.

Group Chairperson Carol Walker
Group Secretary Gill Findlow
Group Treasurer Glyn Hammonds (until end of AGM 2020)

Keith Marnell (joint from AGM 2019)