Marnell Spencer Scout of the Year

The John Marnell & David Spencer Scout of the Year Award

The Scout of the Year award has been named in memory of two former Group Scout Leader’s. John Marnell was Group Scout Leader and Cub Scout Leader at 2nd Halton (St. Augustine’s) until its closure in 2011 due to John’s ill health, he had 50 years of service to scouting. He sadly passed away in December 2011 after a short battle with Motor Neurone Disease. David Spencer was Group Scout Leader at 1st Runcorn Scout Group, David and his family gave many years service in a variety of different roles to 1st Runcorn Scout Group. He was diagnosed with cancer several years ago and despite fighting it once, it returned and he sadly passed away in July 2017. John and David are both Grandparents to Matthew Marnell, current Scout Leader at 4th Runcorn and it was decided to introduce an award in memory of two gentlemen who gave so much to scouting. John and David always believed that the most important thing is “doing your best”, it doesn’t matter if you win, as long as you gave your all it was equal in their eyes. For this reason, the award will be given to the Scout who does their best in everything they do during the year.

The Winner of the 2019 John Marnell & David Spencer Scout of the Year Award is Evie Berridge and Lucy French

The John Marnell & David Spencer Scout of the Year Award

The award winner receives a special neckerchief to keep. This neckerchief is Gold, White and Royal Blue, it combines the colours of 2nd Halton (Royal Blue and Gold) and 1st Runcorn (Royal Blue and White) in to one special neckerchief.

David Spencer 1942-2017

John Marnell 1945- 2011